Bahamas announces new album and date at the Magnet

Bahamas (photo credit: Emmett Malloy)

Bahamas (photo credit: Emmett Malloy)

As Bahamas reveals his new album and tour, here’s Getintothis’ Cath Bore with the details. 

Multiple Juno Award winner Bahamas, aka Canadian singer-songwriter Afie Jurvanen, is to release his fourth album on 19 January and plays Liverpool as part of a worldwide tour in Spring 2018.

At the suggestion of his manager, the new record Earthtones features members of the rhythm section from D’Angelo‘s comeback triumph Black Messiah; James Gadson (Bill Withers, Quincy Jones) on drums, and Pino Palladino  (The Who, Jeff Beck, Nine Inch Nails) on bass.

‘I wrote songs about having success, having kids, and having depression. I wrote songs about going on tour, going back in time and going in circles. I wrote songs about my other worldly wife, my jerk dad and my garbage relationship with my brother,’ says Afie.

Childish Gambino and the return of The Funk

The album is ‘a story about friendship come full circle, and how great it is to have someone in your life that can lift you up when you’re feeling down.’

Bahama‘s touring band consists of Felicity Williams, Christine Bougie, Darcy Yates, Jason Tait, and Don Kerr. His third long player album, 2014’s Bahamas Is Afie, won both Adult Alternative Album of the Year and Songwriter of the Year.

Tour dates are:

March 31  Brighton, The Haunt, Brighton
April 2  The Wardrobe, Leeds
April 3   Bristol, The Louisiana
April 4 London, Islington Assembly Hall, London
April 5 Liverpool, The Magnet
April 6 Dublin, The Grand Social




Leave a Reply