Serpent Power unleash Lucifer’s Dream Box ahead of self-titled debut album

The Serpent Power

The Serpent Power

Serpent Power ready a new album, track and tour, Getintothis’ Peter Guy hails the latest talismanic offering from Skeleton Key Records’ box of charms.

Serpent Power have revealed details of their self-titled debut album out Monday May 4 via Skeleton Key Records.

Freakbeat Merseyside collective, Serpent Power, is a collaboration between Ian Skelly (The Coral) and Paul Molloy (The Zutons) with the eponymous 12-track album recorded at Castle Grayskull studios in late 2014.

Opening offering Lucifer’s Dream Box comes across like Arthur Lee jamming with 13th Floor Elevators in Midlake‘s summerhouse. At night.

Having met at an after-show party in Liverpool, Skelly and Molloy discovered an instant songwriting chemistry and immediately booked a studio to begin work on their debut album.

Deciding to keep the name of the former’s backing band from his Cut From A Star solo album tour and The Serpent Power was born.

Their record unravels like a darkly comic horror book; with twisted tales of alien brain abduction, phantom bogeymen, sirens, voodoo witchdoctors and waitresses come serial killers.

The track listing of the album is as follows:

  1. Dr. Lovecraft’s Asylum
  2. The Man Who Shrunk The World
  3. Lucifer’s Dreambox
  4. Candyman
  5. The Siren
  6. Vampire For Your Love
  7. Last Ape In Space
  8. Killer Cherry Pie
  9. Just A Broken Heart
  10. Life Is A Ball
  11. Serpent Power
  12. The Vision

Serpent Power play Liverpool Sound City on May 23. Take a look at our previous gallery & reviews here.




Comments are closed.